Oleg Pervakov demonstrates his second prize winner. (Photo: René Olthof)

Chess Composition in Tata Steel Tournament 2013

To celebrate the 75th anniversary of the world’s best chess tournament a special International composing tourney for endgame studies was announced. 89 entries of exceptionally high standard were received and checked for soundness and originality by the dedicated tourney director Dr.Harold van der Heijden. Following a long and thorough consideration I decided to include 20 entries in my judge’s award. Here are the five money prize-winners (subject to the usual 3 months appealing period). All are highly original and players’ friendly:    

I demonstrate the first prize winner. (Photo: René Olthof) 

All 20 awarded entries may be seen in the PGN file 

General view of the studies solving contest. (Photo: René Olthof)

John Nunn best solver in Wijk aan Zee

British grandmaster John Nunn won the fourth edition of Tata Steel Studies Solving competition held Saturday January 26 in hotel Zeeduin in Wijk aan Zee. Nunn solved all 9 original studies and scored 43 points out of the maximum of 45 using just 2 hours and fifteen minutes out of the given three hours. Nunn won 3 previous editions of the grandmaster group as well as the second solving contest in 2011. The event was organized in collaboration with ARVES. Chief arbiter was Luc Palmans (BEL). Original studies were contributed by GM Jan Timman, Casper Bates, Peter Krug and yours truly.

The winner GM John Nunn. (Photo: René Olthof)

Here are the complete results of the studies solving contest:

1. John Nunn (GBR) 43 (2:15)
2. Piet Peelen (NED) 39
3. Guus Rol (NED) 37
4. Joost Michielsen (NED) 36 (2:55)
5. Piotr Murdzia (POL) 36
6. Oleg Pervakov (RUS) 35
7. Wouter van Rijn (NED) 33 (2:57)
8. Alina l'Ami (ROM) 32
9. Martin van Essen (NED) 30
10. Harold van der Heijden (NED) 29 (2:52)
11. Dolf Wissmann (NED) 28 (2:58)
12. Willem van Briemen (NED) 27
13. Hans Uitenbroek (NED) 26
14. Marcel Van Herck (NED) 25
15. Ryszard Krolikowski (POL) 23
16. Migchiel de Jong (NED) 22 (2:59)
17. Evgeny Kopilov (RUS) 21 (2:50)
18. René Olthof (NED) 20
19-20. Jesús M. Sedante (ESP) 19
19-20. Marcin Kolodzienski (POL) 19
21. Harm Benak (NED) 18
22. Antti Parkkinen (FIN) 13
23. Jan Baljé (NED) 11 (2:51)

Nunn dominated the International Solving Championship

The Dutch group of the International solving championship (ISC) was held last Sunday for the second time in hotel Zeeduin (Wijk aan Zee) in two categories with 20 participants and was won convincingly by the British GM John Nunn. The event was organized by Hans Uitenbroek and as its arbiter acted Peter Bakker.
The championship is held simultaneously in a number of countries. Here are the standings at the top of category A

1.John Nunn                        (GB) 58/60
2.Piotr Murdzia                      (Pol) 48  
3.Dolf Wissmann                   (Ned) 40
4.Johan De Boer                   (Ned) 39
5.Oleg Pervakov                    (Rus) 38.5
6.Hans Uitenbroek                 (Ned) 35.5
7. Gilles Regniers                  (Bel) 28
8.Ryszard  Krolikowski           (Pol) 26
9.Koen Versmissen                (Ned) 23
10.Johan Beije                      (Ned) 22         


Book prize winners: 
1. Ramnath Bhuvanesh,R, Chennai, India 2. Georgios Manassakis , Piraeus Athens, Greece 3. Arjen de Visser, Serooskerke , The Netherlands 4. Aharon Kalmanovich, Hod Hasharon, Israel  5. Rodovia Monteiro Lobato, São José dos Campos/SP, Brazil.

New Fide Master for chess composition Harold van der Heijden (left) with Luc Palmans, president of ARVES.
(Photo: René Olthof)

Photo's of René Olthof:

Posted: January 29 - 2013




Aanvullende gegevens